Movie Review: Unstoppable


Electrifying

” Hang on for the ride of your life as Oscar Winner Denzel Washington and Chris Pine (Star Trek) team up for the year’s most electrifying action-thriller.”

That’s the tag line for ‘Unstoppable’ – I read that before I watched it. Doesn’t it sound REALLY exciting. I mean I’m already being warned to hang on for the ride of my life, not to mention its the year’s most electrifying action-thriller. This is going to be a seriously amazing film.

I won’t spoil the film for you, but c’mon – it’s Denzel. You KNOW he’s going to stop the train somehow. Anyway, after a long and frankly boring 90+ minutes I was left rather unimpressed.

Hi, I'm Denzel

I like Denzel, I mean if you want to see a good Denzel film see ‘Man on Fire‘ – incredibly good film with Denzel exuding maximum ‘Denzelness’.



In this film though he’s SO dull. He has minimal dialogue, he plays the usual ‘been in the job 40 years and about to retire’ clichéd role we’ve seen a million times before.

He delivers his lines from behind his incredibly shiny white teeth with skill, but he’s done much better.

Onto his co-star Christopher Pine. He was Captain Kirk in the recent Star Trek film. He was very good in that, in this he’s abysmal. He gets even fewer lines than Denzel, though that’s to be expected, he’s not quite on Denzel’s level yet. Can you guess who he plays? Yes, it is the ‘only been in the job 5 minutes’ rookie. It’s ALL so predictable.

And so when it’s all said and done and all the smoke has cleared the star of the film ends up being the fucking train. I’m not sure who cast him, but the more i watched the more and more I recognised him and then it hit me ….

Try and stop me Denzel

 Number of times the word ‘Denzel’ appears in this post = 11